Spirit


 

So, I’m pretty sure I know what you all have been doing.  You have been watching my facebook page and waiting with bated breath to find out what church we went to last Sunday.  Actually, If anybody is watching my facebook page for anything it is probably to find out what trouble I got myself into this week, but just IN CASE anyone is interested in the church field trips this summer, here is the news.  We did not go to church this Sunday.

Snarky!  You need to go to church!  Do you know what becomes of children who do not go to church every Sunday?  They become heathens, that’s what.  HEATHENS I say!!! 

Relax.  It’s not like we sat home all Sunday and taught our children to play blackjack.  This time.  This time we decided to go to church on Monday.  Did you know that churches had services on Monday?  I did not.  This was, in fact, new information to me.

Snarky!  You can’t go to church on Monday!  The Bible says “Remember the sabbath day and keep it holy” and we all know that the sabbath day is Sunday!  That’s not just a suggestion, Snarky, that’s an actual commandment!

Oh my goodness, people!  Just chill!  If you will remember, the sabbath day referred to in The Bible is Saturday, so unless you are going to church every Saturday, you need to stop judging me!  If you are going to church every Saturday, please let me know where because I really enjoyed Monday night church so I would love to give Saturday a try.

The church we went to this week was called Holy Cross Lutheran Church.  It is a small church in Glenwood City, WI.  I will warn you right away that they are ELCA.  ELCA is Lutheran for “those damn liberals”.  I was a little nervous to go to this church because we live near this small town and the locals have not always been super welcoming.  When we first moved here, 15 years ago, it was made very clear to me that I would not be forgiven for my mortal sin of not being at least a third generation local.  Then I started asking people who were angry at my lack of localness if they were worried about the effects of inbreeding.

People pretty much leave us alone now.

Anyway, we entered this local church and I knew I would like it right away.  I knew I would like it because their bulletin?  It is also a coloring page!  It’s like they knew I was coming!  I even resisted coloring it for almost 18 whole hours so I could show it to you!

20170613_144810

Isn’t it nice?

Then, the pastor (of the church.  Not to be confused with The Pastor) walked into the room and he was wearing sandals!  This may not seem like a big deal to you but it was to me.  Sandal wearing pastors are a lot more relaxed than wing tip wearing pastors.  I tend to make wing tip wearing pastors twitchy.  I’m really good at accidentally poking egos and wing tip wearing pastors do NOT like having their egos poked.  Just a little pro tip for you.  You’re welcome.

Then, the most amazing thing of all happened.  The pastor started talking about the crazy day he had and, I kid you not, actually said “you just never know which way the Holy Spirit is going to blow!”

Now, if you are not a christian, here is why that is a big deal.  Most churches do not talk about the Holy Spirit.   Most churches have an actual diagnosed allergy to the Holy Spirit.  Most churches believe that the Holy Spirit is something that blew through the earth two thousand or so years ago on Pentecost Sunday and then was buried safely under piles of church doctrine that night, never to be seen again.

Why would churches feel this way?  Because the Holy Spirit is wild.  It is unpredictable.  It is mystical, and it is the one part of Christianity that no one has been able to put in a box yet.

Maybe you are wild.  Maybe you are unpredictable.  Maybe you are a little bit mystical and the church hasn’t made you feel very wanted because you don’t fit into their boxes.  If so, please accept my apology.  You are like the Holy Spirit and should be embraced.

The pastor then went on to preach.  He talked frequently about the Holy Spirit as if it was just a normal thing that he talked about.  It was pretty amazing.  So amazing that I asked to take a selfie with him.  As you can see, he was a very good sport.

2017-06-13 14.52.31

In the end, I was very pleasantly surprised by this little local church.  It was not at all like I expected.  Kind of like the Holy Spirit.  Kind of like…you!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

